Welcome from Professor Lucie Green, Chair of Governors

As Chair of Governors of The UCL Academy I am delighted to be part of a school that is providing new and exciting educational opportunities for our students. The vision of the Governing Body is that each child will fulfill their potential and become a confident and articulate citizen, and that our staff are supported to flourish in their careers. We are part of the Camden family of schools and as such seek to support the whole borough.

University College London (UCL) was founded on principals of equality and access to education for all.  Today, the wider UCL and The UCL Academy family are able to work together to build on these principals. In addition, areas such as curriculum development, academic excellence and careers advice all benefit from a broad range of activities that are run between The UCL Academy and UCL. We are exploring new ways for universities and schools to collaborate in order to improve the outcomes for all our students and provide a rewarding environment for all our staff to work in.

I welcome any comments or enquiries from parents and can be contacted via the Clerk to the Governors Louise Garcia – l.garcia@uclacademy.co.uk. 

About the Governing Body

The Governing Body of The UCL Academy is responsible for setting the strategic direction of the Academy, holding the Co-Principals to account for the educational performance of students and performance of staff, and overseeing the financial performance of the Academy and ensuring its money is well spent.

Governors serve a term of four years and subject to remaining eligible to be a particular type of governor, any governor may be re-appointed or re-elected. It is made up of up to ten UCL sponsor-appointed governors, one co-principal, two parent governors, two staff governors and one local authority representative from Camden Council.

The Governing Body meets five times per year. The following committees also meet a minimum of three times per year, to provide further focus on key strategic areas of the Academy:

  • Admissions
  • Finance and Audit
  • Staffing
  • Standards

The current members of the Governing Body are:

  • Professor Lucie Green
  • Mr Simon McBride
  • Ms Helen Connor
  • Ms Tina Courtenay-Thompson
  • Mr John Kalmus
  • Councillor Alison Kelly
  • Mr Ewan Labrom
  • Ms Jessica Learmond-Criqui
  • Ms Penny Longman
  • Mr Mark Quinn
  • Mr Matthew Swales
  • Ms Deb Thomas
  • Ms Michelle McCalden

For more information about the current Governing Body over the last 12 months, please click here.

For the Governing Body termly parent updates for 2018/19, click here.
For the Governing Body termly parent updates for 2017/18, click here.
For the Governors Body meeting attendance log, click here.

About the Academy Trust

Members of the Academy Trust are appointed by the sponsor, UCL (University College London). The role of the Trust Members is distinct from those of the Governors; they do not play a role in the strategic direction or day to day management of the Academy, but they have responsibility for a small number of significant decisions, as detailed in the Memorandum and Articles of Association, primarily to ensure the accountability of the Governing Body.

The Academy Trust meets bi-annually and the current members are:

  • Professor Anthony Smith (appointed 2 February 2015)
  • Professor Lucie Green (appointed 9 January 2018)
  • Dr Clare Goudy (appointed 2 February 2015)
  • Professor Norbert Pachler (appointed 3 July 2018)

For the Register of Interests of current Governors and members of the Academy Trust click here